VOTE: Election 2020
Make sure you’re registered, learn what’s on your ballot, get news and information about the candidates and issues, and find up-to-date voting information with the SmartNews election hub.



Poll Times
7 a.m. - 8 p.m.

ID Requirements
Non-photo identification is required:

Voter ID card
Driver’s license
State ID
Military ID
Hunting or fishing license
Other current or valid photo ID
Current utility bill, paycheck, government check, bank statement, or government-issued document

Check My Polling Site

Can I vote by mail in Alaska?
Yes! Any voter can request a mail-in ballot, no excuse required.

Can I submit an application online?
Yes, just tap the button below.

What's the deadline to request a mail-in ballot?
Your request must be received by Oct. 24.

What's the deadline to submit my ballot?
Your mail-in ballot must be postmarked on or before Election Day (Nov. 3)

Check Mail-In Ballot Info

Early voting
Oct. 19


Members of the military, their families, and US citizens living overseas can request a ballot to vote from anywhere in the world.

Get Ballot Info

Get Ready to Vote
General Election
November 3

To vote in your state, make sure you’re registered. Here are some important deadlines:

The deadline for online/mail registration is 10/4.

The deadline for in-person registration is 10/4.

If you have missed these deadlines, your state allows any qualified resident to register to vote and cast a ballot on Election Day.

Check Your Registration

What's on my ballot?

The address will only be used to determine which districts you are a part of. SmartNews will not store your address or use it for any other reason.

Candidates & Races

President of the United States


Joseph Robinette "Joe" Biden, Jr. (b. November 20, 1942, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) is the 46th president of the United States, assuming office on January 20, 2021.

He won the 2020 presidential election on November 3, 2020, with 306 electoral votes. Biden launched his campaign for president of the United States on April 25, 2019. He announced U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D) as his running mate on August 11, 2020.

Biden was the 47th vice president of the United States, serving under President Barack Obama (D) from January 20, 2009, to January 20, 2017.

He previously served as a U.S. senator from Delaware from 1973 to 2009.

On January 12, 2017, Obama awarded Biden the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his lifetime of public service, marking the final time Obama would present the nation's highest civilian honor. Biden received the award with distinction, an additional honor given only to Pope John Paul II, former President Ronald Reagan, and retired Gen. Colin Powell in the previous three administrations.


Vice President of the United States


Kamala Devi Harris (b. October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California) is a Democratic member of the U.S. Senate from California. Harris was first elected to the Senate in 2016. She became the second Black woman elected to the U.S. Senate and the first Indian American to serve in the chamber.

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden announced Harris was his running mate on August 11, 2020. He called her "a fearless fighter for the little guy, and one of the country’s finest public servants." Harris is the first Black woman to appear on a major party's ticket in the United States.

Harris previously ran for president of the United States, entering the race on January 21, 2019. She suspended her presidential campaign on December 3, 2019, and endorsed Biden on March 8, 2020.

Harris is the former attorney general of California. She served in the position from 2011 to 2017. She also served as San Francisco's district attorney from 2004 to 2011.


U.S. Senate Alaska


Al Gross ran for election to the U.S. Senate to represent Alaska. He lost in the general election on November 3, 2020.



Daniel S. Sullivan (Republican Party) is a member of the U.S. Senate from Alaska. He assumed office on January 6, 2015. His current term ends on January 3, 2027.

Sullivan (Republican Party) ran for re-election to the U.S. Senate to represent Alaska. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020.

Sullivan defeated Mead Treadwell, Joe Miller, and John Jaramillo in the Republican primary on August 19, 2014. Sullivan then beat incumbent Mark Begich (D) and several third-party candidates on November 4, 2014.

Sullivan is a former Alaska commissioner of natural resources, appointed by Governor Sean Parnell (R) in December 2010. He was unanimously confirmed by the Alaska Legislature the following April. He served in this position until 2013.

Before assuming the nonpartisan post of natural resources commissioner, Sullivan served as the Republican attorney general of Alaska from June 2009 until December 2010. He was appointed attorney general by then-Governor Sarah Palin (R). He resigned from his post in early December 2010 after Gov. Parnell tapped him to head the state's Department of Natural Resources.

Sullivan began serving in the United States Marine Corps in 1993, and he transitioned from active duty to the reserves in 1997. Prior to his appointment as attorney general, he worked for the federal government under former President George W. Bush (R).



John Howe (Alaskan Independence Party) ran for election to the U.S. Senate to represent Alaska. He lost in the general election on November 3, 2020.



Alaska Ballot Measure 1
North Slope Oil Production Tax Increase Initiative (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports increasing taxes on oil production fields that (a) are located above 68 degrees north latitude in Alaska, which is an area known as the North Slope, (b) have a lifetime output of at least 400 million barrels of oil; and (c) had an output of at least 40,000 barrels per day in the preceding calendar year.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes this ballot initiative to increase taxes on North Slope production fields that produce above a certain amount of oil.

Alaska Ballot Measure 2
Top-Four Ranked-Choice Voting and Campaign Finance Laws Initiative (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports making changes to Alaska's election policies, including:

* requiring persons and entities that contribute more than $2,000 that were themselves derived from donations, contributions, dues, or gifts to disclose the true sources (as defined in law) of the political contributions;

* replacing partisan primaries with open top-four primaries for state executive, state legislative, and congressional offices; and

* establishing ranked-choice voting for general elections, including the presidential election, in which voters would rank the candidates.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes the ballot initiative to change several of Alaska's election policies, including the adoption of top-four primaries, ranked-choice voting for general elections, and new campaign finance disclosure requirements.