VOTE: Election 2020
Make sure you’re registered, learn what’s on your ballot, get news and information about the candidates and issues, and find up-to-date voting information with the SmartNews election hub.



Poll Times
7:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.

ID Requirements
Photo identification is required.

Acceptable forms include:

Driver’s license
Photo ID card
Concealed handgun carry license
U.S. passport
Employee badge or identification document issued by an accredited postsecondary education institution in Arkansas
U.S. military identification document
Public assistance ID card
Voter verification card

Check My Polling Site

Can I vote by mail in Arkansas?
Yes! Any voter can request a mail-in ballot and cite being "unavoidably absent" from the polls in their application.

Can I submit an application online?
Yes, just tap the button below.

What's the deadline to request a mail-in ballot?
Your request must be received by October 27, 2020.
In person: by close of business November 2, 2020.

What's the deadline to submit my ballot?
Your mail-in ballot must be postmarked by Election Day (Nov. 3), or dropped off in-person by 8 p.m. at your local polling place.

Check Mail-In Ballot Info

Early voting
Oct. 19


Members of the military, their families, and US citizens living overseas can request a ballot to vote from anywhere in the world.

Get Ballot Info

Get Ready to Vote
General Election
November 3

To vote in your state, make sure you’re registered. Here are some important deadlines:

The deadline for online/mail registration is 10/5.

The deadline for in-person registration is 10/5.

Arkansas does not allow Election Day voter registration.

Check Your Registration

What's on my ballot?

The address will only be used to determine which districts you are a part of. SmartNews will not store your address or use it for any other reason.

Candidates & Races

President of the United States


Joseph Robinette "Joe" Biden, Jr. (b. November 20, 1942, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) is the 46th president of the United States, assuming office on January 20, 2021.

He won the 2020 presidential election on November 3, 2020, with 306 electoral votes. Biden launched his campaign for president of the United States on April 25, 2019. He announced U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D) as his running mate on August 11, 2020.

Biden was the 47th vice president of the United States, serving under President Barack Obama (D) from January 20, 2009, to January 20, 2017.

He previously served as a U.S. senator from Delaware from 1973 to 2009.

On January 12, 2017, Obama awarded Biden the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his lifetime of public service, marking the final time Obama would present the nation's highest civilian honor. Biden received the award with distinction, an additional honor given only to Pope John Paul II, former President Ronald Reagan, and retired Gen. Colin Powell in the previous three administrations.


Vice President of the United States


Kamala Devi Harris (b. October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California) is a Democratic member of the U.S. Senate from California. Harris was first elected to the Senate in 2016. She became the second Black woman elected to the U.S. Senate and the first Indian American to serve in the chamber.

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden announced Harris was his running mate on August 11, 2020. He called her "a fearless fighter for the little guy, and one of the country’s finest public servants." Harris is the first Black woman to appear on a major party's ticket in the United States.

Harris previously ran for president of the United States, entering the race on January 21, 2019. She suspended her presidential campaign on December 3, 2019, and endorsed Biden on March 8, 2020.

Harris is the former attorney general of California. She served in the position from 2011 to 2017. She also served as San Francisco's district attorney from 2004 to 2011.


U.S. Senate Arkansas


Tom Cotton (Republican Party) is a member of the U.S. Senate from Arkansas. He assumed office on January 6, 2015. His current term ends on January 3, 2027.

Cotton (Republican Party) ran for re-election to the U.S. Senate to represent Arkansas. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020.

Cotton won election to the seat formerly held by Democrat Mark Pryor in 2014. The 2014 race between Cotton and Pryor was rated a toss-up by both Cook Political Report and Sabato's Crystal Ball. Additionally, FiscalTimes listed it as one of the seven most vulnerable seats in the country, and The Washington Post included it on their list of the top 10 races to watch in 2014.

In 2015, Cotton wrote a letter to political leaders in Iran, signed by a majority of Republican senators, stating that any nuclear agreement between President Barack Obama (D) and Iran, if not ratified by Congress, would be considered an executive agreement subject to change by future presidents or congressional votes.

Cotton is a former member of the U.S. House. He represented Arkansas' 4th Congressional District from 2013 to 2015. Upon taking office, Politico named him the freshman "most likely to succeed." Cotton was endorsed by groups affiliated with the tea party movement, including the Tea Party Express.

Cotton served as an officer in the U.S. Army from 2005 to 2009. During his service, he earned a Bronze Star.

Based on analysis of multiple outside rankings, Cotton is an average Republican member of Congress, meaning he will vote with the Republican Party on the majority of bills.

Cotton was included on President Donald Trump’s (R) list of 20 potential U.S. Supreme Court nominees released on September 9, 2020. President Trump (R) nominated Amy Coney Barrett to the seat on September 26, 2020. For more information on the 2020 Supreme Court vacancy created by the death of former Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg on September 18, 2020, click here.



Arkansas Issue 1
Transportation Sales Tax Continuation Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports continuing a 0.5% sales tax, with revenue dedicated to state and local highways, roads, and bridges, that would otherwise expire in 2023.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes continuing the 0.5% sales tax, thereby allowing the tax to expire once bond debt authorized in 2012 is repaid in 2023.

Arkansas Issue 2
Change State Legislative Term Limits Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports this measure to impose term limits of twelve consecutive years for state legislators with the opportunity to return after a four-year break.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes this measure, thereby keeping the state's current 16-year lifetime term limit for state legislators.

Arkansas Issue 3
Initiative Process and Legislative Referral Requirements Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports the amendment to change requirements for citizen initiatives and legislative referrals.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes amendment to change requirements for citizen initiatives and legislative referrals, thereby leaving the initiative and referral process unchanged.