VOTE: Election 2020
Make sure you’re registered, learn what’s on your ballot, get news and information about the candidates and issues, and find up-to-date voting information with the SmartNews election hub.



Poll Times
7 a.m. - 7 p.m. Counties may open the polls earlier and close them later. If the polls close while a voter is in line, he or she will still be permitted to vote.

ID Requirements
Photo identification is required:

Driver's license or nondriver's ID card
Concealed carry of handgun license
U.S. passport
Employee badge or ID issued by any federal, state or local office
Military ID issued by the U.S.
Student ID card issued by a Kansas institution of education
Public assistance ID card
ID card issued by an Indian tribe

Check My Polling Site

Can I vote by mail in Kansas?
Yes! Any voter can request a mail-in ballot, no excuse required.

Can I submit an application online?

What's the deadline to request a mail-in ballot?
Your request must be received by October 27.

What's the deadline to submit my ballot?
Your mail-in ballot must be postmarked by Election Day (Nov. 3) and received by November 6, 2020

Check Mail-In Ballot Info

Early voting
Oct. 14


Members of the military, their families, and US citizens living overseas can request a ballot to vote from anywhere in the world.

Get Ballot Info

Get Ready to Vote
General Election
November 3

To vote in your state, make sure you’re registered. Here are some important deadlines:

The deadline for online/mail registration is 10/13.

The deadline for in-person registration is 10/13.

Kansas does not allow Election Day voter registration.

Check Your Registration

What's on my ballot?

The address will only be used to determine which districts you are a part of. SmartNews will not store your address or use it for any other reason.

Candidates & Races

President of the United States


Joseph Robinette "Joe" Biden, Jr. (b. November 20, 1942, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) is the 46th president of the United States, assuming office on January 20, 2021.

He won the 2020 presidential election on November 3, 2020, with 306 electoral votes. Biden launched his campaign for president of the United States on April 25, 2019. He announced U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D) as his running mate on August 11, 2020.

Biden was the 47th vice president of the United States, serving under President Barack Obama (D) from January 20, 2009, to January 20, 2017.

He previously served as a U.S. senator from Delaware from 1973 to 2009.

On January 12, 2017, Obama awarded Biden the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his lifetime of public service, marking the final time Obama would present the nation's highest civilian honor. Biden received the award with distinction, an additional honor given only to Pope John Paul II, former President Ronald Reagan, and retired Gen. Colin Powell in the previous three administrations.


Vice President of the United States


Kamala Devi Harris (b. October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California) is a Democratic member of the U.S. Senate from California. Harris was first elected to the Senate in 2016. She became the second Black woman elected to the U.S. Senate and the first Indian American to serve in the chamber.

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden announced Harris was his running mate on August 11, 2020. He called her "a fearless fighter for the little guy, and one of the country’s finest public servants." Harris is the first Black woman to appear on a major party's ticket in the United States.

Harris previously ran for president of the United States, entering the race on January 21, 2019. She suspended her presidential campaign on December 3, 2019, and endorsed Biden on March 8, 2020.

Harris is the former attorney general of California. She served in the position from 2011 to 2017. She also served as San Francisco's district attorney from 2004 to 2011.


U.S. Senate Kansas


Roger Marshall (Republican Party) is a member of the U.S. Senate from Kansas. He assumed office on January 3, 2021. His current term ends on January 3, 2027.

Marshall (Republican Party) ran for election to the U.S. Senate to represent Kansas. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020.

Marshall defeated the previous incumbent, Tim Huelskamp, in the Republican primary for Kansas' 1st Congressional District in 2016. Marshall won re-election in 2018 with 68.1 percent of the vote.

Prior to serving in the U.S. Congress, Marshall served in the U.S. Army Reserve from 1984 to 1991 and started a medical practice as an obstetrician.