VOTE: Election 2020
Make sure you’re registered, learn what’s on your ballot, get news and information about the candidates and issues, and find up-to-date voting information with the SmartNews election hub.



Poll Times
7 a.m. - 8 p.m.

ID Requirements
Identification is not required.

Check My Polling Site

Can I vote by mail in Minnesota?
Yes! You just need to request a ballot.

Can I submit an application online?
Yes, just tap the button below.

What's the deadline to request a mail-in ballot?
Your request can be received any day of the year except Election Day (Nov. 3).

What's the deadline to submit my ballot?
Your mail-in ballot must be postmarked on or before Election Day (Nov. 3), and received by your local election office within the next seven calendar days (Nov. 10) of the election. You can also drop it off in person by 3 p.m. on Election Day at your local election office.

Check Mail-In Ballot Info

Early voting
Sept. 18


Members of the military, their families, and US citizens living overseas can request a ballot to vote from anywhere in the world.

Get Ballot Info

Get Ready to Vote
General Election
November 3

To vote in your state, make sure you’re registered. Here are some important deadlines:

The deadline for online/mail registration is 10/13.

The deadline for in-person registration is 10/13.

If you have missed these deadlines, your state allows any qualified resident to register to vote and cast a ballot on Election Day.

Check Your Registration

What's on my ballot?

The address will only be used to determine which districts you are a part of. SmartNews will not store your address or use it for any other reason.

Candidates & Races

President of the United States


Joseph Robinette "Joe" Biden, Jr. (b. November 20, 1942, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) is the 46th president of the United States, assuming office on January 20, 2021.

He won the 2020 presidential election on November 3, 2020, with 306 electoral votes. Biden launched his campaign for president of the United States on April 25, 2019. He announced U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D) as his running mate on August 11, 2020.

Biden was the 47th vice president of the United States, serving under President Barack Obama (D) from January 20, 2009, to January 20, 2017.

He previously served as a U.S. senator from Delaware from 1973 to 2009.

On January 12, 2017, Obama awarded Biden the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his lifetime of public service, marking the final time Obama would present the nation's highest civilian honor. Biden received the award with distinction, an additional honor given only to Pope John Paul II, former President Ronald Reagan, and retired Gen. Colin Powell in the previous three administrations.


Vice President of the United States


Kamala Devi Harris (b. October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California) is a Democratic member of the U.S. Senate from California. Harris was first elected to the Senate in 2016. She became the second Black woman elected to the U.S. Senate and the first Indian American to serve in the chamber.

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden announced Harris was his running mate on August 11, 2020. He called her "a fearless fighter for the little guy, and one of the country’s finest public servants." Harris is the first Black woman to appear on a major party's ticket in the United States.

Harris previously ran for president of the United States, entering the race on January 21, 2019. She suspended her presidential campaign on December 3, 2019, and endorsed Biden on March 8, 2020.

Harris is the former attorney general of California. She served in the position from 2011 to 2017. She also served as San Francisco's district attorney from 2004 to 2011.


U.S. Senate Minnesota


Tina Smith (Democratic Party) is a member of the U.S. Senate from Minnesota. She assumed office on January 3, 2018. Her current term ends on January 3, 2027.

Smith (Democratic Party) ran for re-election to the U.S. Senate to represent Minnesota. She won in the general election on November 3, 2020.

Smith succeeded former Senator Al Franken (D). She assumed office on January 3, 2018.

Smith won a full term in the special general election for the position on November 6, 2018. She defeated Karin Housley (R), Sarah Wellington (Legal Marijuana Now Party), and Jerry Trooien (Unaffiliated) to win the seat. She advanced to the general election after defeating five challengers in the special Democratic primary election on August 14, 2018.

Smith previously served as the 48th lieutenant governor of Minnesota. She was elected to the position on a joint ticket with incumbent Governor Mark Dayton on November 4, 2014, and was sworn into office on January 5, 2015.