VOTE: Election 2020
Make sure you’re registered, learn what’s on your ballot, get news and information about the candidates and issues, and find up-to-date voting information with the SmartNews election hub.



Poll Times
7 a.m. - 7 p.m.

ID Requirements
Photo identification is required:

Driver's license
Photo ID card issued by a branch, department, or entity of the State of Mississippi
U.S. passport
Government employee ID card
Firearms license
Student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college, or community/junior college
United States military ID
Tribal photo ID
Mississippi voter ID card

Check My Polling Site

Can I vote by mail in Mississippi?
Yes! Voting by mail is allowed, but requires an excuse.

Can I submit an application online?
No, you must contact your Circuit Clerk's office and request a mail-in ballot application be mailed to you.

What's the deadline to request a mail-in ballot?
The deadline to apply for your mail-in ballot has passed. Your request had to be received on September 21, 2020.

What's the deadline to submit my ballot?
Your mail-in ballot must be postmarked on or before Election Day (Nov. 3), and received by your local election office within seven calendar days (Nov. 10) of the election. You can also drop off your ballot in person at your local election office from Oct. 24 to Oct 31.

Check Mail-In Ballot Info

Early voting
Not available


Members of the military, their families, and US citizens living overseas can request a ballot to vote from anywhere in the world.

Get Ballot Info

Get Ready to Vote
General Election
November 3

To vote in your state, make sure you’re registered. Here are some important deadlines:

The deadline for mail registration is 10/5.

The deadline for in-person registration is 10/5.

Mississippi does not allow Election Day voter registration.

Check Your Registration

What's on my ballot?

The address will only be used to determine which districts you are a part of. SmartNews will not store your address or use it for any other reason.

Candidates & Races

President of the United States


Joseph Robinette "Joe" Biden, Jr. (b. November 20, 1942, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) is the 46th president of the United States, assuming office on January 20, 2021.

He won the 2020 presidential election on November 3, 2020, with 306 electoral votes. Biden launched his campaign for president of the United States on April 25, 2019. He announced U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D) as his running mate on August 11, 2020.

Biden was the 47th vice president of the United States, serving under President Barack Obama (D) from January 20, 2009, to January 20, 2017.

He previously served as a U.S. senator from Delaware from 1973 to 2009.

On January 12, 2017, Obama awarded Biden the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his lifetime of public service, marking the final time Obama would present the nation's highest civilian honor. Biden received the award with distinction, an additional honor given only to Pope John Paul II, former President Ronald Reagan, and retired Gen. Colin Powell in the previous three administrations.


Vice President of the United States


Kamala Devi Harris (b. October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California) is a Democratic member of the U.S. Senate from California. Harris was first elected to the Senate in 2016. She became the second Black woman elected to the U.S. Senate and the first Indian American to serve in the chamber.

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden announced Harris was his running mate on August 11, 2020. He called her "a fearless fighter for the little guy, and one of the country’s finest public servants." Harris is the first Black woman to appear on a major party's ticket in the United States.

Harris previously ran for president of the United States, entering the race on January 21, 2019. She suspended her presidential campaign on December 3, 2019, and endorsed Biden on March 8, 2020.

Harris is the former attorney general of California. She served in the position from 2011 to 2017. She also served as San Francisco's district attorney from 2004 to 2011.


U.S. Senate Mississippi


Cindy Hyde-Smith (Republican Party) is a member of the U.S. Senate from Mississippi. She assumed office in 2018. Her current term ends on January 3, 2027.

Hyde-Smith (Republican Party) ran for re-election to the U.S. Senate to represent Mississippi. She won in the general election on November 3, 2020.

Smith defeated former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Mike Espy (D) in a special runoff election on November 27, 2018, and will complete former Sen. Thad Cochran's (R) term, which ended in 2021. Smith and Espy advanced to the runoff from the special general election on November 6, 2018, after neither candidate received more than 50 percent of the vote. This special election coincided with Mississippi's regularly scheduled general elections in 2018. Tobey Bartee (D) and state Sen. Chris McDaniel (R) also ran.

On March 5, 2018, Cochran announced that he would resign from the Senate on April 1, 2018. He said in a statement, "I regret my health has become an ongoing challenge." At the time of his resignation, he was the 10th longest-serving senator in U.S. history. Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant (R) appointed Cindy Hyde-Smith as interim senator to serve in Cochran's seat until voters could select a new senator in the November 6, 2018, special election.

Hyde-Smith is the former Republican Mississippi Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce. She was elected in 2011 and took office on January 5, 2012. Hyde-Smith won re-election to a second term as commissioner in 2015.



Mississippi Ballot Measure 1
Initiative 65 and Alternative 65A, Medical Marijuana Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

Voting "either measure" signified that the voter wanted either Initiative 65 or Alternative 65A to pass, thereby allowing the use of medical marijuana by qualified patients. The voter then needed to proceed to the second question to choose their preferred version.

No vote icon

Voting "neither measure" (against both) signified that the voter wants neither Initiative 65 nor Alternative 65A to pass. The voter could then proceed to the second question to choose their preferred version in the event the "either" option gets more votes.

Mississippi Ballot Measure 2
Remove Electoral Vote Requirement and Establish Runoffs for Gubernatorial and State Office Elections Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports the following:

*removing the requirement that a candidate for governor or elected state office receive the most votes in a majority of the state's 122 House of Representatives districts (the electoral vote requirement);

*removing the role of the Mississippi House of Representatives in choosing a winner if no candidate receives majority approval; and

*providing that a candidate for governor or state office must receive a majority vote of the people to win and that a runoff election will be held between the two highest vote-getters in the event that no candidate receives a majority vote.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes this amendment to establish runoff elections for governor and state offices, thereby maintaining the electoral vote requirement and that the House of Representatives will vote for a winner in the event that no candidate receives a majority or in the event of a tie.

Mississippi Ballot Measure 3
State Flag Referendum (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports adopting a new official Mississippi state flag as designed by the Commission to Redesign the Mississippi State Flag, which may not contain the Confederate Battle Flag and must include the words "In God We Trust."

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes adopting the new proposed official Mississippi state flag and supports voting on another new flag design to be presented at a special election in 2021.