VOTE: Election 2020
North Dakota
Make sure you’re registered, learn what’s on your ballot, get news and information about the candidates and issues, and find up-to-date voting information with the SmartNews election hub.



Poll Times
Polls must be open by 7 a.m. the earliest and remain open until 9 p.m. at the latest.

ID Requirements
Non-photo identification is required:

Driver’s license
Nondriver’s identification card
Tribal government-issued identification
Long-term care identification certificate

If a voter does not have a form of identification that includes his or her current North Dakota residential address or date of birth, the voter can present the following supplemental documents:

Current utility bill
Current bank statement
Check or a document issued by a federal, state, local, or tribal government

Check My Polling Site

Can I vote by mail in North Dakota?
Yes! Any voter can request a mail-in ballot, no excuse required.

Can I submit an application online?
Yes, just tap the button below.

What's the deadline to request a mail-in ballot?
No specific deadline

What's the deadline to submit my ballot?
Your mail-in ballot must be postmarked and received by Election Day (Nov. 3).

Check Mail-In Ballot Info

Early voting
Oct. 19 (varies locally)


Members of the military, their families, and US citizens living overseas can request a ballot to vote from anywhere in the world.

Get Ballot Info

Get Ready to Vote
General Election
November 3

North Dakota is the only state that does not require voter registration.

What's on my ballot?

The address will only be used to determine which districts you are a part of. SmartNews will not store your address or use it for any other reason.

Candidates & Races

President of the United States


Joseph Robinette "Joe" Biden, Jr. (b. November 20, 1942, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) is the 46th president of the United States, assuming office on January 20, 2021.

He won the 2020 presidential election on November 3, 2020, with 306 electoral votes. Biden launched his campaign for president of the United States on April 25, 2019. He announced U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D) as his running mate on August 11, 2020.

Biden was the 47th vice president of the United States, serving under President Barack Obama (D) from January 20, 2009, to January 20, 2017.

He previously served as a U.S. senator from Delaware from 1973 to 2009.

On January 12, 2017, Obama awarded Biden the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his lifetime of public service, marking the final time Obama would present the nation's highest civilian honor. Biden received the award with distinction, an additional honor given only to Pope John Paul II, former President Ronald Reagan, and retired Gen. Colin Powell in the previous three administrations.


Vice President of the United States


Kamala Devi Harris (b. October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California) is a Democratic member of the U.S. Senate from California. Harris was first elected to the Senate in 2016. She became the second Black woman elected to the U.S. Senate and the first Indian American to serve in the chamber.

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden announced Harris was his running mate on August 11, 2020. He called her "a fearless fighter for the little guy, and one of the country’s finest public servants." Harris is the first Black woman to appear on a major party's ticket in the United States.

Harris previously ran for president of the United States, entering the race on January 21, 2019. She suspended her presidential campaign on December 3, 2019, and endorsed Biden on March 8, 2020.

Harris is the former attorney general of California. She served in the position from 2011 to 2017. She also served as San Francisco's district attorney from 2004 to 2011.


Governor of North Dakota


Doug Burgum (Republican Party) is the Governor of North Dakota. He assumed office on December 15, 2016. His current term ends on December 15, 2024.

Burgum (Republican Party) ran for re-election for Governor of North Dakota. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020.

Burgum filed for governor on a joint ticket with Lieutenant Governor Brent Sanford (R).

Burgum announced his first run for the office on January 14, 2016, and was elected on November 8, 2016. He defeated Democratic state Rep. Marvin Nelson and Libertarian Marty Riske. The North Dakota Republican Party endorsed Burgum's primary opponent, five-term Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem, at its April 2016 convention. Burgum defeated Stenehjem by 20.9 percentage points.



North Dakota Constitutional Measure 1
Board of Higher Education Membership Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports the amendment to increase the membership of the Board of Higher Education from eight to 15; increase term length from four years to six years; and prohibit state employees, officials, legislators, from being members.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes the amendment, thus keeping the membership of the Board of Higher Education at eight members with term limits of four years and allowing members to be state officials, legislators, or state employees.

North Dakota Constitutional Measure 2
Require Initiated Constitutional Amendments to be Approved by the Legislature or Passed Twice Amendment (2020)
Yes vote icon

A "yes" vote supports the amendment to require initiated constitutional amendments passed by voters to be submitted to the legislature for approval and in the case of rejection, require the measure to be placed on the ballot again at the next statewide election to become effective if approved by the voters a second time.

No vote icon

A "no" vote opposes the amendment to require citizen initiated constitutional amendments to be submitted to the legislature after voter approval.